Posted by: Rob Viens | February 27, 2013

How Botany Merged Two Great Families

Rounding out the cross-pollination between blogs on opposite sides of the world (how cool is that), I’m excited to share today’s guest post from Tamara in Solvenia who writes My Botanical Garden. She explains how a love of botany brought Darwin’s grandfathers (Josiah Wedgwood and Erasmus Darwin) together and may have led to the meeting of his parents. Botany is just that awesome … Follow the link above and enjoy! (RJV)

My Botanical Garden

Image Taking a train ride for Stoke on Trent I was observing Potteries landscape running by, all green and smooth.It made me happy to recognize English countryside  just as sculptured in Wallace &Gromit our kids liked that much .Yet my thoughts at that moment  were: “If I survive this I shall reward myself  with one Wedgwood cup!”-sorry my friends in Stoke, but at that moment I couldn’t know that all the clay and coal from these green paysage helped writing a garden story I would listen with open mouth… 2012-10-28 08.50.41

I met a young man by the name of J. Wedgwood  who had planted a flower garden adjacent to his pottery.He also had his men wash their hands and faces and change their clothes after working in the clay.(attributed to John Wesley).

I was  happy indeed, when I found this sentence, visiting Wedgwood museum.There were so many potters there around, for centuries, but just one of them, Josiah Wedgwood

View original post 415 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

